Meeting George Lois

Yesterday I had the pleasure of interviewing George Lois for my radio and podcast class. The title of the show is ‘The Don Draper Effect: Personality and Persuasion in Design’. I’m discussing design without actually discussing too many objects! Really I’m focusing on the personalities of designers, their relationships with clients and their powers of persuasion.

For those of you who don’t know George Lois, he is a legendary ad man and creative director who has worked from the 1960s up until the present day. Some of his most famous work includes his covers for Esquire magazine and the ‘I Want My MTV’ campaign.

There is plenty of rumor and speculation surrounding George online. I’m obviously in no position to comment on these matters. All I can say is I found him to be pleasant, interesting and very passionate. He welcomed me into his home and showed me his impressive collection of art and design ranging from art deco screens, tribal masks, his wife’s brilliant paintings and a few Barcelona chairs. George has spoke out against Mad Men on many occasions saying “The heroic movers and shakers of the Creative Revolution…bear no resemblance to the cast of characters on Mad Men.” So I’ll be sending this card I made this morning to say thanks. (The outside reads “Fuck you Mad Men” and the inside reads “but thank you George Lois”)

2 Responses to “Meeting George Lois”


  1. 1 BrianOFFSET November 11, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    That guy is amazing. We had him at our conference in Ireland for a full 3 days and I got to hang out with him and his wife Rosemary for the weekend.

    He had a standing ovation in the 2,000 capacity main theatre.

    An absolute motha fockin’ legend.

  2. 2 annakealey November 12, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Yeah, I heard he was great at Offset this year. (Actually I heard all of Offset was great this year.) I was sad to miss it so very excited that I got to meet him. I just logged my 2 hours of tape so now I’ll be editing it for a while. I’ll stick the show up when it’s done.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

